What a great holiday this year.
Freda is 2 1/2 and it was really fun this year. She was old enough to participate in a ton of xmas lore. Behold the almighty Advent calendar. Letters to Santa. Cookies/milk by the chimney with a note. Freda was the 'keeper of the lights' on the tree and got a bit miffed when we did it. She had so much fun decorating the tree (this may become a bigger event in the future), then we made a bunch of ornaments with things like pine cones and wax paper "stained glass" ornaments. Collecting the materials, assembling the materials and then decorating with the final product were 3 different layers of fun. Next year we can do popcorn and paper chains.
Grandma Leslie came up and stayed Christmas eve with us and Freda opened her gifts from family. We enjoyed festive music and snacks. We usually go to my parents house for Christmas eve but we were not able to make it this year.
Christmas morning was fun and we all got up at 6.am. (thanks Frefre...) and discovered all the presents Santa dropped off. We had a blast and ate breakfast and enjoyed the company and played with Freda. That evening, we went to Aunt Jan and Uncle Joe's for dinner. Aunt Cindy's family was there with all the kids. My brother and his family also were there. Freda had so much fun playing with her cousins. She talks about them all the time and gets really excited the few times a year we all end up in the same place.
On Saturday we drove down to Mt. Vernon to visit Grandma Freda and Grandma Sharon. What beautiful people. They are always in a good mood and happy to drown you in compliments and fuss over Freda. They are so sweet.
On Sunday, we drove back down to Bayview to have Christmas with Mandy's dad's family. Sometimes I don't know how to deal with such generous and loving people but i'm getting there. haha. We ate and laughed and shared stories from the last year and more.
Thanks to everyone for making this Christmas top of the list.
Life is good.
.jpg)
















